100,000 Membership Rewards Points Posted! Where Will I Go?

American Express rocks. My 100,000 point sign-up bonus from the American Express Platinum credit card just posted and this month’s statement hadn’t even closed! Remember, the points are on top of the free money AmEx gave me for applying for the card!

100k

Thanks to Target’s Redbird prepaid card, I was quickly able to manufacture the additional spending I needed, as $10,000 in three months would normally have been impossible to achieve.

Here are 5 things I can do with 110,000 Membership Rewards (MR) points:

  1. I can fly roundtrip from New York to Frankfurt on Singapore Airlines in suites-class. (Ok, with an additional 5,000 Krisflyer miles, but it’s easy to manufacture 5,000 points.)

  2. I can fly roundtrip from New York to Montreal eleven times, or, fly one time with eleven friends on American AIrlines using British Airways’ Avios and still have 2,000 miles left over.
  3. I can redeem 63,000 MR points with ANA’s Mileage Club for a roundtrip business class ticket anywhere United, Brussels or LOT flies to Europe, without any fuel surcharges.

    Image courtesy "Flybranchen" on Flyertalk.

    LOT business-class on a 787 Dreamliner. Image courtesy “Flybranchen” on Flyertalk.

  4. I can book three economy-class tickets on United from NYC to Hawaii using Singapore Airlines’ Krisflyer miles and I would still have 5,000 points left over, enough for a one-way train or plane ticket from New York to Washington, DC.

    A picture my sister took while in Hawaii.

    A picture my sister took while in Hawaii.

  5. I can book a roundtrip business-class ticket from the US to Thailand if I transfer 95,000 MR points to Alitalia’s Millemiglia program. 100,000 will get me to India, and that’s in comfortable and tasty business-class, too.

So, what am I going to do with these points? First, i’ll transfer 50,000 MR points to British Airways Executive Club and book a economy-class ticket from New York to Santiago, Chile to go visit my playboy friend (look at el niño!) this summer.

IMG_4285 IMG_4288 IMG_4289

Then, I’ll use 18,000 MR points, transferred again to BA, and book two economy-class tickets, one for me and one for a friend, for a Montreal trip sometime during the spring/summer. Montreal can be really fun.

The third trip will be a March weekend in Miami and cost 15,000 MR points for a economy-class ticket. While this winter hasn’t been as cold as last year, the beach is always necessary.

That leaves (110,000-83,000)…27,000 MR points, handy for random Chicago or Nashville or DC or Charlottesville or Indianapolis or Charlotte or Toronto trips, among many other destinations.

Rory put it funniest: “I can now live opulent lifestyles for pennies.” 

While I wouldn’t call my future travel options opulent (I mean, Saudis kit out $500 million planes for fun), it’s definitely pennies. Heads up, too.

One thought on “100,000 Membership Rewards Points Posted! Where Will I Go?

Leave a Reply

