Don’t Want Uber To Track You All The Time with “God Mode”? Here’s How To Cancel Your Account!

There are a bunch of real-time ridesharing options in the market that don’t seem to get much, or any, negative press. Lyft offers a fist-bump (Level: Maximum Terrorist) from the driver and fuzzy pink mustaches to make it easy to spot the car. Downloading Lyft and enter the my referral code “J763518” to get $10 off your first ride (I get $10 in ride credit, too.) Gett offers $10 rides anywhere, anytime for Manhattan-only trips until 2015 .Use my Gett referral code GTJOE19 to get $20 off, or two free rides (I also get $20 in ride credit).

Then there’s Uber. An old maxim is there’s no such thing as bad press, but by mixing surge pricing during a hostage crisis, sexual assault, improper screening of drivers, collecting data on purported sexual encounters and spying on journalists, it’s double, double, toil and techno-trouble. The CEO also dresses like someone who uses Uber only for cocaine deliveries.

Travis Kalanick

Travis Kalanick

But, maybe the biggest worry is something called “God View,” where an Uber employee can track you indefinitely. Uber says this exists only for “legitimate business purposes,” but that phrase means whatever Uber wants it to mean. Now, with other social media like Facebook or Twitter, you can turn location tracking off, but with Uber you can’t, because it’s a location-based service. In other words, you are stuck constantly giving your location to Uber, whether you want to or not.

This is uncomfortable to me, so I deleted the app and figured that once Uber publicly fixes their policies, I would re-download, but until then, it’s that 1 train (Is there anything better?),

Here’s what I found out from some online research, though: deleting the app doesn’t delete your account. Confused and annoyed, I looked to Google, which pointed me to Wikihow and this link that showed me a couple of ways to delete my Uber account. Both simple, the first method involves the Uber support page, while the second is just a straight email shot.

Still, even if you delete your account, Uber’s privacy policy states the following: “Even after your account is terminated, we will retain your Personal Information and Usage Information (including geo-location, trip history, credit card information and transaction history)” for as long as Uber needs the information for “business purpose.”

There’s that business purpose phrase again…<Inserting poop emoji>..Looks like Uber wins. Still, deleting your account is something to think about if you don’t like the direction of the company.

Here’s the link for deleting your account, again.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s