Headed back to Japan via Germany and Korea for $86!

I just bought a one-way ticket in first and business-class from New York to Tokyo for $86.10.

Yes, $86.

I’m routing through 2 other cities, as well. First, I have a 8 hour layover in Frankfurt, Germany and then a 21 hour layover in Seoul, South Korea. While I have already transited through both airports, I’ve never been able to venture into either city, so I’m pretty excited.

Itinerary

Itinerary

NYC-Boston-Frankfurt-Seoul-Tokyo!

NYC-Boston-Frankfurt-Seoul-Tokyo!

Here are each of the legs of the 9,959 mile journey with a picture of each seat along with the price of each ticket:

1) LaGuardia to Logan (Boston) – USAirways domestic first-class

Photo courtesy www.usairways.com (but look how productive I could be!)

Photo courtesy http://www.usairways.com (but look how productive I could be!)

I'm on the 7pm flight.

I’m on the 7pm flight.

2) Logan to Frankfurt – Lufthansa business-class (unfortunately, not the celestial paradise that is Lufthansa first-class on a 747, but plenty fine!)

Photo courtesy www.sevenstarsandstripes.com (look how classy I could be!)

Photo courtesy www.sevenstarsandstripes.com (but look how classy I could be!)

photo 1 (1)

I’m on the 10:20 flight.

3) Frankfurt to Seoul- Asiana Airlines first-class

Asiana first-class (but look how sleepy I could be!)

Photo courtesy www.flyasiana.com (but look how sleepy I could be!)

photo 2 (3)

4) Seoul to Narita (Tokyo) – Asiana Airlines business class

Photo courtesy www.flyasiana.com (but look how easily I can slide out of my seat!)

Photo courtesy www.flyasiana.com (but look how easily I can slide out of my seat!)

photo 3 (2)

Ok, so I told a half-truth. It was actually $86.10 and 67,500 United miles for flights worth $12,235 .

Here’s how I (honestly) earned the miles:

1) Signed up for the Chase Ink Bold business charge card which offers 50,000 Chase Ultimate Rewards as a signup bonus after spending $5,000 in the first 3 months of card membership. (Please pay no attention to the $5,000 sum as a serious number – there are so, so many ways to “manufacture” spend, either at cost or between 1-3% of cost, so the sum, while large, isn’t worrisome in most cases.) Once I had met the minimum spend and the points had posted when my statement closed, I then transferred the 55,000 Ultimate Rewards at a 1:1 ratio to my United MileagePlus account.

2) I had close to 10,000 miles already in my United account from flying United in the past year to San Francisco, Charleston and Austin.

3) I transferred the rest of the points I needed from my Chase Sapphire Preferred Ultimate Rewards account. This card gives me 2x points on travel (trains, cabs, flights, etc) and restaurants, so it’s fairly easy to rack up points quickly. (Pro tip: is everyone paying in cash at dinner? Take the cash for yourself and put your Sapphire Preferred card down, instead. You now get 2x points on your meal AND everyone else’s!)

After I booked the ticket, I went to Seatguru to pick out my seats. Seatguru has layouts of every plane on almost every airline, with user reviews of each seat. I find the site extremely helpful, as I don’t want to be in a seat without a window, in front of an exit row (no recline), or a middle seat ever, for instance.

So, there you have it – Japan in June and July! I haven’t yet booked my return flight back to New York, but I will post as soon as I do.

Tokyo

Tokyo

3 thoughts on “Headed back to Japan via Germany and Korea for $86!

  1. Pingback: Coming back from Japan via Hong Kong on Cathay Pacific for $106! | The Window Suite

  2. Pingback: Free From Speed Limits: Renting a Porsche for the Autobahn through Lufthansa First-Class! | The Window Suite

  3. Pingback: How Much Did My Friend and I Save On Hotels in South Korea and Japan? | The Window Suite

Leave a Reply

